AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Wilford L. White Fellows

Selection as a Wilford L. White Fellow is the highest recognition that the International Council for Small Business  (ICSB) gives to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development, furtherance and benefit of small and medium sized businesses. The award was created in 1977 and was named for Dr. Wilford L. White, the ICSB's founder and visionary leader.  Dr. White, along with a handful of US government and academic leaders in the early 1950s, saw the need to establish a professional body to enhance and encourage small business management and entrepreneurship practices in the United States.

As a result of their efforts, the National Council for Small Business Management Development was created in 1955. The council held its first annual conference in Colorado. The National Council existed until the late 1970s, when under the leadership of the council's president, Dr. Ole Johnson and others it became apparent that the world had accepted entrepreneurship and small business as the vehicle to future economic growth and prosperity.

The newly named International Council for Small Business was born in 1977, and at that time, there were only two affiliates; the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE) and the Canadian Council for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (CCSBE). Today, the ICSB has over 2,400 members with 12 affiliates and numerous international members in at least 60 countries.

The Wilford L. White Award recognizes the achievements of those men and women whose passion and burning desire for small business and entrepreneurship is reflected in their teaching, writing, research, training and public service.  Since 1977, sixty six distinguished educators, researchers, government officials, small business advocates and trade association leaders have been selected as a Wilford White Fellow including the following five individuals honored at the 50th ICSB World Conference in Washington, DC: Drs Ray Bagby, Brian Gibson, Louis Jacques Filion, G. Dale Meyer and Professor Wee Liang Tan.

The current ICSB Past President/Wilford L. White Fellows representative to the ICSB board is G. Dale Meyer and the current chair of the Wilford L. White Fellows is George Solomon.

Wilford White Fellows

(Fellows who have unfortunately passed away are identified with an asterisk *)

Ray W. Ayres*  Dieter Ibielski Hans Jobst Pleitner
Ray Bagby Bengt Johannisson Zulma Quiñones
John Bailey Ole S. Johnson* Mario Raffa
Robert Bauer Wilson Johnson* Jose M. Romaguera
Clifford M. Baumback* Pierre-Andre Julien Ki-Jung Ryu
Ralph Bedwell  Raymond W.Y. Kao Joseph C. Schabacker
Robert Bilodeau Bong-Jai Kim* Dean Martin Schotzberger
David L. Birch Sandra King-Kauanui Roy T. Shaw*
Eugene Bonk* Bruce Kirchhoff John Sloan*
William Boub John L. Komives George Solomon
Robert Brockhaus Guy Laviguer Lois Stevenson
John F Bulloch Wee Liang Tan David Storey
Bob Butler John K.C. Liu* Eugene Swearingen
Harold Charlesworth* Justin Longenecker* Roy Thurik
Thomas Dandridge Anders Lundström William A. Toomey, Jr.
William “Denny” Dennis Tan Teck Meng Rob van der Horst
Lillian Dreyer Geoffrey Meredith

Rodrigo Varela

Colin Robert Dunn Wendell O. Metcalf* José María Veciana*
Lloyd W. Fernald, Jr. G. Dale Meyer Joop Vianen
Louis Jacques Filion Donald D. Myers* Sheldon R. Wagner*
Carl Franklin Grant C. Moon K. Mark  Weaver
Brian Gibson Josef Mugler Harold Welsch
Eugene G. Gomolka* John C.I. Ni* John Welsh*
Walter Good Philip A. Neck Willis J. Wheat
Klaas Havenga Ken O'Neill Wilford L. White*
Gerald E. Hills Yoon Bae Ouh* Ken Wilson*
Ralph Hook Jr. Sang-Kyu Park  Arch M. Woodruff 
Frank Hoy J Hanns Pichler