Home » Affiliates and Chapters » United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE)

United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE)

The United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship® (USASBE) is the largest independent, professional, academic organization in the world dedicated to advancing the discipline of entrepreneurship. With over 1000 members from universities and colleges, for-profit businesses, nonprofit organizations, and the public sector, USASBE is a diverse mix of professionals that share a common commitment to fostering entrepreneurial attitudes and behaviors.

USASBE is built around four pillars that guide the ongoing development of our organization. The pillars include:

  • entrepreneurship education
  • entrepreneurship research
  • entrepreneurship outreach and
  • public policy

By fostering advances in each of these areas, we support the development of entrepreneurship educators who in turn will create next generation of entrepreneurs.

The roots of USASBE go back over fifty years to the founding of the International Council for Small Business (ICSB) in 1957. The ICSB was founded in the United States as a comprehensive organization of outstanding researchers, scholars, teachers, administrators, and public policy makers interested in entrepreneurship and small business. As the organization grew, members decided to form national affiliates, and the U. S. Affiliate of the ICSB was established in 1981. In 1985, the name was changed to the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE). Today, USASBE is an independent academic organization with its own unique mission, while also retaining its affiliation with ICSB.

USASBE is a community of scholars, entrepreneurship program and center directors, government officials, directors of entrepreneurship support organizations and others. It is a community that works to enhance our understanding of the phenomenon of entrepreneurship and to identify best practices in how to teach entrepreneurial principles and facilitate the creation and growth of new for-profit and social ventures. Ours is a culture of exploring, experimenting, innovating, sharing, challenging and giving.

As leaders in the emerging discipline of entrepreneurship, our members are making an impact on how we think about, conduct research on, design public policy around, and interact with entrepreneurs and entrepreneurial ventures. They are extending the field of knowledge and shaping the discipline to reflect the opportunities and demands of the 21st Century.


Learn more about USASBE



USASBE 2018 Conference

USASBE, an ICSB Affiliate in the United States, is accepting submissions starting June 5th for their annual conference. USASBE is an inclusive community advancing entrepreneurship education through bold teaching, scholarship, and practice. This year, the conference will be in Los Angeles, California from January 10th-14th.



Mark T. Schenkel, Ph.D.
Associate Editor, Journal of Small Business Management
Professor of Entrepreneurship
Jack C. Massey College of Business
Phone: 615.460.5474 | Fax: 615.460.6605
Email: mark.schenkel@belmont.edu


President Elect*
Eric Liguori
California State University
Craig School of Business
1830 E. Shepherd Ave. #228
Fresno, CA 93720
Email: eliguori@csufresno.edu
Past President
Heidi Neck
Jeffrey A. Timmons Professor of Entrepreneurship
Babson College
Email: hneck@babson.edu
Sr. Vice President – Operations and Planning
Franz T. Lohrke
Brock School of Business
Samford University
800 Lakeshore Drive
Birmingham, AL 35229
Tel: 205-726-2373
Email: ftlohrke@samford.edu
Sr. Vice President – Programming
Kimble Byrd 
Rowan University College of Business 
201 Mullica Hill Road 
Glassboro, NJ 8028 
Tel: 856-256-4015 
Email: byrd@rowan.edu
Sr. Vice President Elect – Programming* 
Doan Winkel
Illinois State University
Campus Box 5580
Normal, IL 61761
Email: dwinkel@ilstu.edu
Sr. Vice President – Finance
Ted Zoller
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
CB #3440
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Tel: 727-873-4892
Email: zoller@unc.edu
Sr. Vice President – Development* 
Raymond Smilor * 
Texas Christian University 
Neeley School of Business DRH 
351 TCU BOX 298530 
Fort Worth, TX 76129 
Tel: 817-257-5591 
Email: r.smilor@tcu.edu
Sr. Vice President – Marketing/Membership
Mark T. Schenkel 
Belmont University 
College of Business Administration 
1900 Belmont Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37212-3757
Tel: 615-460-5474
Vice President – Conference / Program Chair
Amy Brownlee
University of Tampa
401 W. Kennedy Blvd. Box O
Tampa, FL 33606
Email: abrownlee@ut.edu
Vice President – Publications 
Eric Liguori
California State University
Craig School of Business
1830 E. Shepherd Ave. #228
Fresno, CA 93720
Email: eliguori@csufresno.edu
Vice President – Member Services
Matt Marvel
West Virginia University
College of Business & Economics – Office 113
Morgantown, WV 26506
Tel: 304-293-3798
Vice President – Research
Nathalie Duval-Couetil
Purdue University
Tel: 765-494-7068
Email: natduval@purdue.edu
Vice President – Placement/Career Center 
Ethne Swartz 
Fairleigh Dickinson University 
Silberman College of Business 
College at Florham 
285 Madison Avenue 
Madison, NJ 07940 
Tel: 973-443-8296 
Email: swartz@fdu.edu
Vice President – Events/Programs
Anthony Luppino
University of Missouri – Kansas City
5100 Rockhill Road School of Law
Kansas City, MO 64110
Email: luppinoa@umkc.edu
Vice President – Mentoring Program
Harold P. Welsch 
DePaul University Management Department 
1 E. Jackson Avenue 
Chicago, IL 60604 
Tel: 312-362-8471 
Email: hwelsch@depaul.edu
Assistant VP – Finance
Ronald L. (Bud) Gayhart
University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
Center for Innovation and Business Development
1200 Hyland Hall
Whitewater, WI 53190
Tel: 262-472-1689
Email: gayhartr@uww.edu
Assistant VP – Electronic Communications 
Rodney D’Souza 
Northern Kentucky University 
Haile – US Bank College of Business BEP 404 
Highland Heights, KY 41099 
Tel: 859-572-5741 
Email: dsouzar@nku.edu
Assistant VP – Print Publications
Katherine A. (Polly) Black
Wake Forest University
1834 Wake Forest Rd. Box 7427
Winston Salem, NC 27109
Tel: 336-758-2657
Email: blackka@wfu.edu
SherRhonda Gibbs
University of Southern Mississippi
Tel: 601-266-4673
Email: SherRhonda.Gibbs@usm.edu
Michael Fountain
University of South Florida
Center for Entrepreneurship
4202 E. Fowler Ave Stop BSN3403
Tampa, FL 33620
Tel: 813-974-7900
Email: fountain@coba.usf.edu
Wendy Plant 
University of South Florida 
3802 Spectrum Blvd., Suite 100 
Tampa, FL 33612-9220
Tel: 813-974-7245
Email: wplant@usf.edu
Nola Miyasaki

Oklahoma State University
104 Business Building
Stillwater, OK 74078
Email: nola.miyasaki@okstate.edu
Audit Committee
Joe Roberts 
Coleman Foundation 
Fellow of Entrepreneurship 
Coleman Foundation, Inc. 
358 West Army Trail Road 
Bloomingdale, IL 60108 
Tel: 312-493-9044 
Audit Committee Chair
Bob D’Intino (Chair)
Rowan University
Rohrer College of Business
114 Nursey Drive
Glassboro, NJ 08028
Tel: 856-256-4926
Email: dintino@rowan.edu
Awards Chair
Brad Hancock 
Texas Christian University 
Neeley Entrepreneurship Center 
TCU BOX 298530 
Fort Worth, TX 76129 
Tel: 817-257-5946 
Email: brad.hancock@tcu.edu
Audit Committee
Daniel Degravel
College of Business & Economics
California State University Northridge
1811 Nordoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330
Tel: 818-677-2402
Email: Daniel.degravel@csun.edu
Board Secretary 
Eden Blair
Bradley University
Foster College of Business
1501 W. Bradley Ave.
Peoria, IL 61625
Tel: 309-677-3348
Email: esblair@bradley.edu
Host Institution Liaison
Jeff Vanevenhoven
University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
Tel: 262-472-5465
Email: vanevenj@uww.edu
Gerald E. Hills
Bradley University
Foster College of Business Administration
Baker Hall 123
1501 W. Bradley Avenue
Peoria, IL 61625
Tel: 309-677-2310

Email: ghills@fsmail.bradley.edu